The Climate and Cryosphere community would like to congratulate the chair of the CliC Arctic Sea Ice Working Group Donald K. Perovich (CRREL, USA) as elected Fellow of American Geophysical Union (AGU) 2013, along with 2 other CliC-affiliated scientists, John Pomeroy and Eric Rignot. To be elected a Fellow is a special tribute for those who have made exceptional scientific contributions. Primary criteria for evaluation in scientific eminence are major breakthrough/discovery and paradigm shift. Perovich was elected for his fundamental work in sea ice optics and understanding of the ice-albedo feedback to climate in Arctic sea ice regions. John Pomeroy (University of Saskatchewan, Canada) is recognized for his outstanding contributions to understanding hydrometerology in cold regions. Eric Rignot (JPL & UC-Irvine) for his innovations in detecting change of the polar ice sheets, leading to the first continent-wide assessment of mass balance. The 2013 Class of Fellows will be recognized during the Honors Ceremony at the 2013 AGU Fall Meeting, held on 11 December in San Francisco, California, USA.
For more info on AGU Fellows go to: