logo image for top of page

a core project of

CLIVAR/CliC/SCAR Southern Ocean Region Panel

Photo: ©SeaWiFS, NASAThe Southern Ocean Region Panel serves as a forum for the discussion and communication of scientific advances in the understanding of climate variability and change in the Southern Ocean. To advise CLIVAR, CliC, and SCAR on progress, achievements, new opportunities and impediments in internationally-coordinated Southern Ocean research. The main coordination of the Panel is provided by CliC's sister WCRP project, the Climate Variability and Predictability Project (CLIVAR), and is co-sponsored by CliC and the Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR).
Specific Activities of SORP:

  1. Facilitate progress in the development of tools and methods required to assess climate variability, climate change and climate predictability of the ocean-atmosphere-ice system in the Southern Ocean.
  2. Identify opportunities and coordinated strategies to implement these methods, spanning observations, models, experiments, and process studies.
  3. Provide scientific and technical input into international research coordination, collaborating as required with other relevant programs, including the Southern Ocean Observing System (SOOS).
  4. Monitor and evaluate progress in Southern Ocean research, and identify gaps.
  5. Enhance interaction between the meteorology, oceanography, cryosphere, geology, biogeochemistry and paleoclimate communities with an interest in the climate of the Southern Ocean.
  6. Work with relevant agencies on the standardization, distribution and archiving of Southern Ocean observations.

SORP Members

Name Role   Institute Country
John Fyfe Co-chair 2017 Environment and Climate Change Canada Canada
Inga Smith Co-chair   2020   University of Otago New Zealand
Isabelle Ansorge Member 2018 University of Cape Town Soutn Africa
Katsuro Katsumata Member 2018 JAMSTEC Japan
Joellen Russell Member 2018 University of Arizona USA
Jiuxin Shi Member 2018 Ocean University of China China
Ben Galton-Fenzi Member 2017 ACE-CRC Australia
Kenny Matsuoka Member 2017 Norwegian Polar Institute Norway
Patrick Heimbach     Member 2017 University of Texas (Austin) USA
François Massonnet    Member 2017 Université Catholique de Louvain Belgium
Alexander Klepikov Member 2017 Arctic and Antarctic Research Institute   Russian Federation  
Riccardo Farneti Member 2018 ICTP Italy
Robin Robertson Member 2019 University of New South Wales Canberra Australia
David Bromwich Member 2019 Byrd Polar and Climate Research Center, Ohio State University USA

Learn more about the CLIVAR/CliC/SCAR Southern Ocean Region Panel