logo image for top of page

a core project of
2018WCRPspon col July2018 01 1


CliC works closely with many other organizations and projects to achieve its goals. We are very grateful for these partnerships as working together helps to strengthen all our efforts. If you would like to become a partner of CliC, please contact us.

Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR)

SCAR is an Interdisciplinary Body of the International Council for Science (ICSU), founded during the International Geophysical Year of 1957-58. As of 2012 the membership of SCAR includes 37 member countries and 9 ICSU Unions. SCAR's Mission is to be the leading, independent, non-governmental facilitator, coordinator, and advocate of excellence in Antarctic and Southern Ocean science and research and to provide independent, sound, scientifically-based advice to the Antarctic Treaty System and other policy makers. SCAR also uses science to identify emerging trends and bring these issues to the attention of policy makers.

Visit SCAR

International Arctic Science Committee (IASC)

Due to the Arctic's growing scientific and political importance and economical potential the eight Arctic countries founded IASC in 1990 as the first international organization covering all sciences and all the Arctic. Today including 21 member countries, IASC promotes and support leading-edge multi-disciplinary research in order to foster a greater scientific understanding of the Arctic region and its role in the Earth system. IASC encourages, facilitates, and promotes basic and applied interdisciplinary research in or concerned with the Arctic at a circumarctic or international level and provides scientific advice on arctic issues.

Visit IASC

Cryosphere Research Focus Group, American Geophysical Union (AGU)

The American Geophysical Union (AGU) Cryosphere Focus Group acts as a liaison between the cryospheric science research community and the AGU administration. The group has grown significantly in the last decade and is a vehicle to promote and strengthen cryospheric science within AGU, and ensure that the needs as a scientific community are met through AGU Meetings and Publications.
Visit AGU Cryosphere

Arctic Monitoring and Assessment Programme (AMAP)

AMAP was established by the eight Arctic countries (Canada, Denmark, Iceland, Norway, Russia and the United States) in 1991 as part of the Arctic Environmental Protection Strategy (AEPS) and is today a working group under the Arctic Council. AMAP’s mandate is to provide scientific documentation of the status, trends and effects due to pollutants and climate change (including UV) on Arctic ecosystems and human health. Based on the scientific assessments AMAP provides science based recommendations for Action to protect the Arctic.

Visit AMAP

Association of Polar Early Career Scientists (APECS)

APECS is an international and interdisciplinary organization for undergraduate and graduate students, postdoctoral researchers, early faculty members, educators and others with interests in Polar Regions and the wider cryosphere. APECS grew out of the 4th International Polar Year (IPY-4) in 2007-08 to stimulate interdisciplinary and international research collaborations, develop new research directions, to promote education and outreach as an integral component of polar research, to provide opportunities for professional career development and to develop effective future leaders in polar research, education and outreach.

Division on Cryospheric Sciences, European Geosciences Union (EGU)

The European Geosciences Union (EGU) Division on Cryospheric Sciences consists of science officers specialized in snow, permafrost, ice sheets, sea ice and glaciers and publishes the interactive open access journal The Cryosphere and also accords the Cryospheric Sciences award and medal to eminent scientists for their outstanding research contribution.

Visit EGU Division on Cryospheric Sciences


International Association of Cryospheric Sciences (IACS)

IACS was established in 2007 to elevate the study of the Cryosphere to a more prominent position within the International Union of Geology and Geophysics (IUGG).
IACS promotes studies of cryospheric subsystems of the Earth solar systems, provide opportunities for international discussion and publication of the results of this research and facilitate the standardization of measurements and collection of data on cryospheric systems and of the analysis, archiving and publication of such data. IACS promotes education and public awareness on the cryosphere and is particularly interested in the transfer of cryospheric research methods and results between different parts of the world.

Visit IACS

International Commission on Snow and Ice Hydrology (ICSIH)

ICSIH is a commission of the International Association of Hydrological Sciences (IAHS) launched in 2005 and promotes both the advancement of snow and ice hydrology research and the familiarization of the international community with advanced techniques stemming from this research by making the state of the art and practical tools available to researchers who deal infrequently with snow and ice hydrology through educational and informative initiatives.


International Glaciological Society (IGS)

The International Glaciological Society was founded in 1936 to provide a focus for individuals interested in practical and scientific aspects of snow and ice. IGS stimulates interest in and encourages research into the scientific and technical problems of snow and ice in all countries, it facilitates and increases the flow of glaciological ideas and information and publishes: the Journal of Glaciology, the Annals of Glaciology, the News Bulletin of the International Glaciological Society ICE and other related publications, such as books and monographs, sponsor lectures, field meetings and symposia.

Visit IGS


International Permafrost Association (IPA)

The mission of IPA, founded in 1983, is to promote research in permafrost and permafrost-related fields within the global scientific and engineering communities, to support the activities of researchers in these disciplines, and to disseminate findings concerning permafrost to the decision-makers, the general public and educators.

Visit IPA

Permafrost Young Researchers Network (PYRN)

PYRN was officially founded in 2005 under the patronage of the International Permafrost Association (IPA) fostering innovative collaboration, seeking to recruit, retain and promote future generations of permafrost researchers by providing an arena for interaction and exchange of information in order to extend scientific knowledge and improve collaboration among different generations of scientists worldwide, promoting multinational and cross-gender equity in science opportunities and participation, by enhancing the visibility of permafrost science by providing a collaboration platform between young researchers at an early stage and making the voice of young scientists heard about present problems and concerns through regular input into science policy and decision-making.

Visit PYRN